top of page

Updated Skincare Routine: Dry Winter Skin


Stina's Sphere: Updated Skincare Routine: Dry Winter Skin

Hi everyone! If you live in the Northeast, you are probably aware that we just got a huge snowstorm the other day. It has been so bitterly cold for over a week now, and I actually just got done baking a fresh chocolate chip banana bread to warm up from the chilling temperatures. Even though I have tried to stay indoors to keep warm, I have still had to face the elements a number of times, and the air, in general, is so dry. I have struggled with dry skin for a long time, and this weather is only making it worse, but I have found a skincare routine that helps keep my face hydrated and feeling good all day long. And what's better, half of the products I have fallen in love with are super affordable! So, if you are interested in finding out what products help keep my dry skin at bay, just keep reading.

 

My Dry Skin Saviors

Stina's Sphere: Updated Skincare Routine: Dry Winter Skin

On this list, I decided to include my makeup remover and face masks because they are essential to my skincare routine. I also should note that I did not include a toner on this list. I go back and forth between a glycolic acid and a hyaluronic acid toner, but I don't use them every day. I find that the simpler my routine, the better my face reacts so most of the time, I just cut it out. The face masks aren't an everyday thing either, but I do use them often enough to include them on this list. OK! So let's get started!

 

it Cosmetics Bye Bye Makeup

Stina's Sphere: Updated Skincare Routine: Dry Winter Skin

Best makeup remover ever! I used to be a micellar water user, but after this discovery, I don't know if I will ever go back. I got into this stuff a few months ago when my mom got a sample of it from an order she made and I fell in love. First of all, it smells heavenly (think creamsicle), and it takes off even the most difficult makeup in mere seconds. I just take a little bit of it on the tips of my fingers and I gently massage it around my face and even on my eyes. Then I just close my eyes and let the product sit on my face for about a minute to let it disintegrate the product and moisturize my skin. Then I just rinse it off and my skin is perfectly clean and feels soft and hydrated. Just don't get this in your eyes because everything will be blurry for a bit, but otherwise it is amazing. Highly recommend, especially for dry skin.

 

Cerave Hydrating Facial Cleanser

Stina's Sphere: Updated Skincare Routine: Dry Winter Skin

After trying a dozen more pricey face washes, I can't believe this drugstore find one won my heart. It feels so amazing on the skin and makes even my lips feel so soft and hydrated. I have come to really love this brand because they have some pretty amazing products with quality ingredients. I definitely want to try more of their stuff in 2018. As far as this cleanser, it really gets the job done and leaves my face not only clean, but feeling healthy and soothed. It has ceramides and hyaluronic acid, so it really does plump the skin by helping moisture be adsorbed into the skin that is usually stripped away by the cold weather. It has really helped me get through this rough winter we are having so far.

 

Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Aloe, Chamomile and Lavender

Stina's Sphere: Updated Skincare Routine: Dry Winter Skin

After having used the rose water spray for over a year, I was so very excited to see that Mario Badescu was releasing a new scent. I never tried the green tea one, but boy am I happy I tried this. It was only 7 bucks and even though I am constantly spraying my face with it throughout the day, I still have so much left, so it will certainly last me a long time. I typically use this right after I wash my face and before my moisturizer, and I also use it to set my makeup and as a general facial spray to add moisture throughout the day. While it claims to give the face a glowy look, I can't say that is true, but it does provide nice moisture to the skin. It gets rid of the powdery look at the end of makeup application and it helps keep my dry patches at bay throughout the day. It also smells great. I prefer this to the original Mario Badescu spray, and I never thought that I would say that.

 

Cerave Moisturizing Cream

Stina's Sphere: Updated Skincare Routine: Dry Winter Skin

Another Cerave product, I know, but it is a great brand. It has the same great ingredients as the cleanser, and the two complement each other so well. I prefer the cream over Cerave's moisturizing lotion because apparently, my skin is just that dry that it needs a thicker moisturizer. At first, I was worried because this is more of a body cream, but it doesn't say anything explicitly saying that it cannot be used on the face, and it is non-comedogenic and has not clogged my pores or caused any breakouts so I will continue to use it. I slather my face in this before I go to bed and I wake up and my face feels so amazing! Usually when I wake up my face feels tight as my old moisturizers wear off after a few hours, but this cream works over time. Dryness stays away for hours and does not come back. I even use this stuff under makeup, but with a much lighter hand, and it prevents flakiness even the longest of makeup days. I am in love!

 

Kiehls Earth Deep Pore Cleansing and Calendula & Aloe Soothing Hydration Masks

Stina's Sphere: Updated Skincare Routine: Dry Winter Skin

As soon as Kiehls came to Sephora, I was so excited. I got a pack of face masks for Christmas from the brand, and these two were the standouts for me. I typically use the deep pore one first and the hydrating one immediately after, and I think they work so well together. The deep pore mask is great for deeply cleaning out the skin without stripping away moisture and making the face feel tight and painful. It really gets into the pores and gets out all the gunk, and it also helps get rid of any dead skin I may still have sitting on my skin's surface. The hydrating mask is perfect as a follow-up mask because it plumps and smooths my face making my face feel baby soft and clean. It also takes away any redness left over from the deep pore mask. I have used each of these on their own, but I love them best together.

 

These are all of the products that keep my face nice and hydrated while it is below zero outside. What are some of the products that you use to help your dry skin in winter? I am always trying out new products to help up my skincare game and would love to hear what works best for you!

Thanks for being here,

Christina :)

bottom of page