top of page

Best Makeup of 2017: Stina's Favorite Makeup Products of the Year


Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

2017 is finally coming to a close, so what better way to wrap up the year than talking about a bunch of awesome makeup. I recently went through my collection to clean out and reorganize after the holidays and as I was storing the makeup on my organizers, it got me thinking about the products that I keep close at hand -like the makeup that I put on display closest to my mirror because I use them that often.

Now, of course, I have a lot more favorite makeup products than the ones I listed below, but I wanted to select the notable products that stood out the most to me. I am also thinking that I might make a separate post about the products I disliked the most, so let me know if you would be interested in that. But, before I ramble on too too much, here are my most memorable makeup products of the year.

 

FARSÁLI Unicorn Essence

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

Like most everyone else in the world, I was drawn to the allure of all of the Instagram videos with this product dripping down everyone's face, and I wasn't disappointed. As someone with dry skin, I am always looking for the next best moisturizing booster/ moisturizing primer, and I think I found it in this product. This serum sinks into the skin within mere seconds and makes my face feel so refreshed and glowy. I use it at night before my moisturizer and in the morning as a primer and it works well both ways. You only need the tiniest bit to cover your whole face so you can make this stuff last a long time. It also makes my makeup last all day. It does leave your face with more of a tacky feel, so if you are not a fan of primers like that, you probably will not like this. But, I love tacky primers and for that reason (and all of the reasons I mentioned before) I will definitely be repurchasing this in the future.

 

Dr. Jart+Cicapair ™ Tiger Grass Color Correcting Treatment SPF 30

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

Such a beautiful creation right here. I got a sample of this at Sephora a few months ago and could not wait to purchase it myself. I held off for a while because they only had one size jar a few months ago (and it was super expensive), but they recently released smaller sizes and I was overjoyed. This green cream is perfect for those days when you do not want to wear a ton of makeup but you want a little bit of coverage for any redness or discoloration. It blends into the skin in seconds into a sort of beige color that tries to match your skin tone. I can't really see this matching all skin tones, especially deeper tones, but I would say it would work well for fair to light tones best. It gives my skin some nice hydration as well as light coverage, so it has quickly become my lazy day go-to. I have also noticed less redness in my skin over time as I have been using it more often. I would highly recommend this stuff if you have sensitive skin and do not like wearing foundation all of the time.

 

First Aid Beauty Hello FAB Coconut Skin Smoothie Priming Moisturizer

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

Are we surprised that I have another moisturizing primer? Probably not, but this one has been a favorite since 2016. I think I got my first bottle of this on my birthday last year and I have been hooked ever since. Since it works as both a moisturizer and a primer, I can use it on full coverage days as well as natural days for an all-over glow. If you do not like the look of a shiny/shimmery face, then you will probably not like this, but it is undetectable under medium/full coverage foundations, just not alone. While I cannot say that this makes my makeup last any longer, I do get some good hydration from it. I also love the smell and way it makes my face feel. I am going to be keeping this one around for a long time, that much I know for sure.

 

CoverGirl Vitalist Healthy Elixir Foundation

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

Wow, I was not expecting to love this stuff as much as I do. I have not loved a foundation so much as this one in a long time. While I am super disappointed that this is the lightest shade and it is still five shades too dark for my complexion, I love it so much that I am willing to use a white mixer with it every time I use it. It is super hydrating and full coverage, and has to be the longest lasting foundation I have ever used! I am already almost done with this first bottle that I got a few months ago and you best believe I will be repurchasing as soon as I run out. It makes my skin feel so nice and smooth, and I get so many compliments on my complexion when I am wearing it. I really was not expecting very much from this foundation, but it certainly was a nice surprise to enjoy it as much as I do. It would be even better if Covergirl would come out with lighter shades in this product. For such an affordable price with the occasional coupon, I think it is worth a try -you might be surprised.

 

NYX Professional Makeup Hi Definition Photo Concealer Wand

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

A rather recent purchase of mine, but one that was well worth it. An incredibly affordable concealer that I got on Amazon as an add-on when I was ordering some Christmas presents. I got this in the lavender shade because I have such a tough time getting concealers that are light enough for my skin tone. This concealer reminds me Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer, but I like this one a bit better. It has good coverage and it lasts super long on my face without being too drying under the eye. It also stays in place and does not break up at all. I am so very satisfied with this concealer as it is quickly becoming my new holy grail. Best 4 dollars I have spent in a long time.

 

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

I am officially on my third bottle of this amazing creation. Another hydrating primer, yes, but one that can serve multiple purposes. I have used it as a primer, a simple face spray throughout the day, and a makeup setting spray, and I love the way it holds my makeup together and makes my face feel. You would never think that something called 'water' would do anything significant - and I need to figure out what the magical ingredient is in this product -but it keeps my makeup looking fresh all day long. It is truly incredible, and it even smells really good, but I do not think it is the kind of fragrance that would cause any kind of irritation to the skin. I can tend to have sensitive skin, but I have not had any issues with this stuff and I have been using it the whole year. If you just want to test it out, get the travel size bottle (I always get the smaller size and it lasts a super long time) and see how you like it. I don't think you would be disappointed.

 

STELLAR Brilliant Primer

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

BEST PRIMER EVER! Honestly I am blown away by how good this product is. It was my own birthday present to myself and Stellar is only available in select Sephora's so I had to order it online, but it was worth the wait. While the packaging is a bit cheap (it basically fell apart when I first used it), the product inside is worth every penny (it is a rather expensive primer at $35). This primer makes my makeup last for eons, and it stays looking fresh all day long. It sort of feels like the clear Smashbox primer with that sort of slippy feel to it, but it smooths out the face and gives it a glow from within look. It also hydrates and soothes my skin and makes it feel really nice all day long. If I were to recommend you trying only one product on this list, this would be the one.

 

Milani Eyeshadow Primer

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

As someone who swore by Urban Decay's Primer Potion for a few years, I can tell you that this discovery was a life-changer. For about 8 dollars, this stuff works just as well if not better than the Urban Decay primer, which is something that I can get behind. No creasing, no crumbling, and enough coverage to provide a nice smooth base for my eye makeup. It is truly perfect! I will certainly be purchasing this one over any Sephora brand primer for here on out because I am not willing to keep spending top dollar for something as simple as an eye primer. So glad that I found this one!

 

Benefit Cosmetics kaBROW! Cream-Gel Eyebrow Color with Brush

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

Now I think I have written about this beauty before on my last post, but I love it so much that I am willing to write about it again. Doing my brows has become so easy now that I have this pomade in my life. I also love that it comes with a brush. The pomade stays in my brows all day long and I find that I do not even need a brow gel to look the hairs into place. It goes on easy and does not leave my eyebrows feeling sticky or rough. I even love the color selection. I currently use shade 1 but once I run out of the one I am using now, I think I might try shade 2 to see if I notice a huge difference. While I wish this stuff was a bit cheaper, the jar lasts a very long time, so it is worth it at the end of the day. If you enjoy pomades or want a new brow product that will add some volume to your brows, I suggest that you try this one out.

 

Huda Beauty Mauve Obsessions Eyeshadow Palette

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

Wow, I did not anticipate to love this palette as much as I do. I used to stray away from such bright reddish colors, but I have found a new love for them with these shadows. Ever since Huda Beauty released eyeshadows, I have wanted so desperately to try them out, and I am so very satisfied with their quality. These shadows blend out so effortlessly, and the color pay-off is incredible. I know everyone said that these palettes were so tiny, but the pan sizes are the same as the ones in her larger palettes and I think the size makes it easier to hold and travel with. And, while the shades may appear a bit scary given how deep and rich they are, they do not come off as bold on the eyes. I mean you could make them look rather bold, but with a gentle hand, you can come up with a rather soft and flattering look. I definitely want to try out some of her other eyeshadow palettes since I am so happy with this one.

 

Maybelline Fit Me Loose Finishing Powder

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

New favorite setting powder of all time! Yes, I said it, I found a drugstore alternative to Laura Mercier, and given the price difference of about 30 dollars, I would recommend this one over Laura any day. Not only do you get added coverage, but this powder sets the under-eye without it looking dry or cakey. I find this one to be a bit more hydrating than Laura's and lighter in color ( I use the shade 05 fair), and it does not cause any flashback. I do have to admit though, I think the Laura Mercier powder lasts a bit longer than this one as I find that Maybelline's tends to break up after five or so hours. In general, this powder is only about 10 bucks depending on the store you're at, so I think it is worth a try if you are in the market for a new powder.

 

Maybelline FaceStudio Master Bronze Kit

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

Another Maybelline product, but one I only got because of a coupon. I was not expecting very much from this palette since I find it so hard to get bronzers that do not make me look orange, but I was pleasantly surprised once I started playing around with it. I love the second and last bronzers the most (the middle one is orange and it has shimmers in it so a no-go for me), but the other bronzers have just the right amount of pigment and blend out really easily. The highlighter is a bit dark for my complexion, but I do like the wet look it gives to the cheekbones. I reach for this palette more than any of my other more pricey bronzers, so I think that says a lot. If you have a coupon, why not try this out?

 

bh Cosmetics Backlight Highlight Palette

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

2017 was the year I fell in love with the brand bh cosmetics. Some of the most affordable products and such a low price point. I also tried out the Carli Bybel palette (the second one) and loved that one as well. While these highlighters look a tad outlandish and crazy, I love the way they look on the skin. I don't really reach for the green or blue shades, but I do use the pinks, the yellow, and the silver all the time. These are definitely not natural highlights by any means - you could be spotted by NASA while wearing it - but if you are into extreme highlighters than you would probably enjoy these immensely. I think the palette is around 15 dollars, and the pan sizes are huge, so you get a lot of bang for your buck. And, bh is always having sales on their website, so keep a lookout. I will probably never run out of these highlighters, but that means I get to glow for a lot longer.

 

Huda Beauty Contour & Strobe Lip Set in Trophy Wife/Shameless

Stina's Sphere: Best Makeup of 2017

Finally, we have arrived at my last favorite product of the year. I have swiftly fallen in love with Huda Beauty products, and these do not disappoint. I love the idea of a lip liner, a liquid lipstick, and a lip strobe in the same package. Travel size lip products are better in my opinion because I have never been able to go through an entire full-size lip product before in my life. I also love how these all go together so well. The lip liner is by far the creamiest lip liner I have ever used in my whole life, and I love the formula of the liquid lipstick. It is not very drying, but because of that it tends to wear off pretty easily, but that is not a huge deal to me. The lip strobe even looks beautiful over the lipstick and alone. I definitely want to get more of these lip sets and some more lip strobes in the future. I am so happy with this set, and the color Trophy Wife looks great with my fair complexion. I will probably end up going through it in no time. I believe the set is around 25 bucks at Sephora, so I think it is a pretty good deal.

 

So, those were my most notable makeup products of the past year, what were some of yours? I'm excited to see what is to come in the makeup world in 2018 and I will be sure to post along the way to share all my latest acquisitions. I hope 2017 treated you well and I wish you a happy and healthy new year! Cheers!

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page