top of page

Tarte's Sex Kitten Palette Review And Swatches


Stina's Sphere: Tarte's Sex Kitten Palette Review And Swatches

Finally the day is here to talk about my latest obsession: Tarte Cosmetics' Sex Kitten Palette. I bought this a few months ago and I couldn't be any happier with my purchase. This palette comes with seven eye shadows and one highlighter and I haven't been able to put it down. I highly recommend it!

Sex Kitten Palette

Across the top left to right: Rawr (bone),Sly (ivory),Paw (taupe). Middle row: Feline (shimmering slate) Cunning (nude mauve). Bottom Row: Prowl (blackened navy) Wildcat (smoky brown). Highlighter: Secret (pearl highlight)

Feline and Cunning are the only two shimmer shades, and the rest are matte. Normally I wouldn't like that many matte shades, but I honestly don't mind it with this palette. I find that this palette has all of the shades I need on a daily basis and I can use it for a simple everyday look or even an evening look. I also love the fact that it is so compact and easy to travel with it, and the mirror is a huge selling point. It fits perfectly in my purse so it is the perfect palette for someone who is on the go.

Swatches (no flash) from bottom to top:

Rawr

Sly

Paw

Feline

Cunning

Prowl

Wildcat

Secret

Swatches (with flash):

Rawr

Sly

Paw

Feline

Cunning

Prowl

Wildcat

Secret

I think my favorite part about this palette is the highlighter. Usually highlighters don't show up very well on my pale skin, but this one is fantastic. I legitimately use it every single day, and I can't stop. I mean, it's not perfect because there is a lot of fallout, but it looks so beautiful on me that I can look past that issue. The only other issue I have with this palette is the matte white shade Rawr because it really doesn't have much pigmentation. Usually Tarte has the most amazing matte shades, but something went wrong with this one. At first I thought it was just my palette in particular, but my mom purchased the palette upon my recommendation and her Rawr has the same issue.

Other than those issues, I love the rest of the shades. Sly is the perfect shade to set the whole eye, and Paw is one of my favorite transition shades. I usually use Feline and Cunning all over the lid and they look even better with a wet brush. Prowl and Wildcat look wonderful on the outer corner and even on the lower lash line. Prowl actually surprised me the most because I have never before used a navy shade like this, yet I really enjoy it. It blends out like a dream and I have not experienced any patchiness with it, which is commonly a problem I have with darker matte shades. I'm sure it would complement blue eyes really well. Overall, this palette is definitely a keeper for me and one that I am going to have a tough time putting down.

 

Here is a makeup look that I came up with using the palette

Makeup look with the palette

For this look, I used Sly to set my eye primer then used Paw in the crease. I then did a halo eye using Prowl on the inner and outer corners. In this step, I really tried to take my time to make sure that it was completely blended out without any patches. I then used Colourpop's Super Shock Shadow in Liberty in the center of the lid and went back in Prowl to blend it all together. Then I highlighted my inner corner and brow bone with Secret.

As for the rest of my face:

Eyeliner: Stila Stay All Day Liquid Eyeliner

Mascara: Urban Decay Perversion

Lashes: Ardell Black 160

Foundation: Loreal Infallible Pro Matte Foundation (110)

Concealer: Makeup For Ever Ultra HD Concealer (Y21)

Setting Powder: Cover FX Perfect Setting Powder

Bronzer: Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte (light)

Highlighter: Sex Kitten Palette (Secret)

Lip: Nude Stix Magnetic Matte Lip Color in Greystone

 

The Sex Kitten Palette is available at tartecosmetics.com and at Ulta and retails for $29.

 

Have you tried this palette? Let me know what you think about it in the comment section down below!

Thanks for being here,

Stina :)

bottom of page