top of page

Carli Bybel Deluxe Edition Palette Review + Swatches


Carli Bybel Deluxe Edition Palette Review and Swatches

Well hello there everyone! It's been awhile since I have reviewed some makeup, but I'm glad to be back at it and luckily I have a great product to share with you all. As I have mentioned before on here, I bought a whole bunch of stuff from bh cosmetics a while ago while they were running a huge promotion and I was able to pick up this bad boy. When the original palette came out I was in love but I never got around to purchasing it, so when I saw the deluxe edition I knew I had to have it.

For those who don't know, Carli Bybel is a well-known YouTuber who does makeup reviews and tutorials and she partnered with bh cosmetics to develop this palette. Ironically, out of the dozen of makeup influencers I watch online, Carli is not one of them, yet her palette is the only collaboration I have ever bought. However, at just $22.50 for 15 eyeshadows, 6 highlighters, and a big mirror, this collaboration was a better deal than all the rest. (I mean can we just look at the pricing for the Manny Mua × Jeffree Star collab... 1 lipstick is about $20 bucks) I also was in love with the colors in the palette because they made it stand out from all of the warm toned palettes that are popping up everywhere. It's rather unique in a number of ways, but how about I let you see for yourself before I ramble for too long.

 

No Flash- Flash

Carli Bybel Deluxe Edition Palette Review and Swatches

So here is the beautiful layout in all of its glory. I have to say, it is one of the prettiest palettes I have ever seen. The outside packaging is gorgeous and the inner layout is well coordinated with a faux marble background. Each row of eye-shadow colors work off the same color scheme so it makes it easier to come up with cohesive looks, which I greatly appreciate. And I'm also glad that a full and complete look can be accomplished with this palette alone since it has a good amount of mattes, transition shades, and shimmers. I also think it is incredible that this palette can cater to all skin tones with the addition of a wide highlighter range. It fits my fair complexion like a dream, but it can also suit much deeper tones, which you almost never find in a single palette.

 

Top Row

Flash - No Flash

Carli Bybel Deluxe Edition Palette Top Row Swatches

The top row of colors is probably my least favorite out of the eye-shadows- this is not to say I don't like them at all- but it is to say that I find myself using this row the least. As I have mentioned, I am super pale with brown eyes and orangy/peachy tones don't look great on me. I speak to the three shades at the bottom of my arm (first three on the top row of the palette) in particular. It's hard to put into words but they make my eyes look irritated-like if I'd been rubbing them too much. However, if I use some shades from the other rows I can make them work for me. In terms of the pigmentation of these shadows, the 2nd from the bottom is probably the least pigmented in the whole palette. It has a ton of fallout and it doesn't really show up on the eyes. The top two shades are next level creamy, so they make up for the other one. I especially like to use them with a wet brush to make the colors pop on my eyes, and they last all day long without fading. Some quality shadows for sure.

 

Middle Row

No Flash - Flash

Carli Bybel Deluxe Edition Palette Middle Row Swatches

Here we are...my favorite row! I'm a huge magenta/pink/purple lover but I've never actually worn those colors on my eyes before. Now that I have, I don't know if I can stop. I have to admit, this picture doesn't really do the shades justice. The bottom shade is probably my favorite in the whole palette but it doesn't show up well on my arm. It is a gorgeous iridescent pink that look so damn pretty on the center of the lid.

The shade second from the top actually looks more purple in the palette than it does on the arm and on the eye to be honest. It's still pretty, but the color is a little misleading. I would have loved it to be a richer purple, but we can't always get what we want. Also in sad news, the matte shades on this row require a great deal of building up. However, once they are, they look wonderful, it just takes some work to get the full color payoff on the eye; work that I am willing to put in because they look so pretty.

 

Bottom Row

No Flash - Flash

Carli Bybel Deluxe Edition Palette Bottom Row Swatches

The last row of eye-shadows are my go-to colors that I have been wearing ever since I started wearing makeup, and now with this palette, I don't have to stop! This row by far has the best pigmentation of them all. I don't have an issue with any of these colors - well the top color (bottom right corner in palette) doesn't quite fit in with the palette because it has almost a green undertone and I never use it - but besides that, these shades are wonderful and they blend together so well. In general with all of the shimmer shades in the palette, I find that they work best with your finger in order to get the best color payoff. If you don't want to, you can use a wet brush to make the color pop to get the same effect. Overall, their quality is amazing and I am in love.

 

Highlighters

No Flash - Flash

Carli Bybel Deluxe Edition Palette Hightlighter Swatches

Finally we have arrived at highlighter heaven. This palette truly has it all when it comes to the glow. Since, as I mentioned earlier, this palette caters to all skin tones, I only use two of these shades as highlighters (the middle two shades) and the rest I use as eye-shadows (and they work just as well). It's really hard for me to find highlighters that work with my pale skin since most are too dark and look muddy on my skin, but thankfully Carli came through and brought me some shades that fit me perfectly. The white and the light pink shades are perfect for those who lack melanin and when I say your highlight will be seen from miles away, I mean it. There is nothing natural about these highlights - well if you use a really light hand and blend it in really well afterwards then it can- but with one swipe of the brush there is full pigment, and it is pigment that lasts all day long. These shades don't fade away and I find that they sit well on the skin and don't accentuate texture at all even though they are blinding. I am beyond thrilled to now have them in my collection.

 

My final thoughts

I am beyond thrilled to have found bh cosmetics and to have discovered such an amazing product. I had never before tried their shadows and I am super impressed. In all honestly, I think these shadows blend better and last WAY longer than any of my Urban Decay Palettes. I was worried that they would be too stiff or that none of them would have any pigmentation, but I assumed incorrectly and I'm thankful for that. Is there fallout? Yes, but a lot of palettes have that, and I have experienced way worse before. Are all of the shadows perfect? No, but what palette is perfect?

In general I think this palette has some wonderful shadows and for the price, you just can't beat it. Also, considering the brand is available at Ulta and I believe in some drugstores now, you are getting good quality makeup for an affordable price. I highly recommend this palette and I look forward to testing out more of their products in the future.

 

If you have this palette or if you have tried bh cosmetics before, let me know what you think! I would love to hear from you. As always, thank you for being here and if you haven't already, subscribe to my site to stay up to date on all of my reviews and posts. I promise you won't regret it. See you on the next one!

bottom of page