top of page

The Longest Lasting Foundation for Dry Skin


Stina's Sphere

Happy Friday, everyone :)

Today is another Foundation Friday and I am very excited to share with you my thoughts on this product because it is one of my all-time favorites! For those of you who are new to my site or are just unfamiliar, I am a pale person with very dry skin. I'm so pale that I've had people ask me if I'm feeling alright just because they thought I looked ghostly. I also have skin that enjoys shedding off an entire layer seemingly each and every day. It's a fun time.

Sarcasm aside, it is really tough for me to find foundations that work for my fair, dry complexion. I usually have to make a sacrifice on either end, but all of my hopes and prayers were answered when this foundation came into my life a few short months ago.

Today, I am talking about Tarte Cosmetics Hydrating Shape Tape Foundation. I use the lightest shade "porcelain." It retails for $39 for just over 1 oz of product and comes in 18 shades total. I think the packaging is really cute and sturdy, but I just wish the foundation wasn't an Ulta exclusive. For whatever reason, I enjoy shopping in Sephora more than I do Ulta. I'm not sure exactly why, but I just do.

Stina's Sphere: The Longest Lasting Foundation for Dry Skin

Now, if you followed along the whole Tarte Cosmetics drama, this foundation is the exact same product as their Double Duty Gel Foundation (one that I never tried because I'm not a fan of jar foundations), but it is now in a nice sturdy glass container with a doe foot applicator and has a new name. While I do enjoy the packaging, as I get closer and closer to the bottom, I begin to wonder if the upgrade was a good choice because I think there is some product that I won't be able to reach or get out of the container. I shall keep you updated on that as I continue using it more.

Anyways, as far as the actual product inside of the jar, I am in love! While not as full coverage as shape tape, this medium coverage foundation gives the face a nice even and plump look. It glides over any dry patches or uneven texture I may have to give me a nice smooth complexion. It has a really nice dewy finish that leaves the skin looking super hydrated and happy. Moreover, while it is only medium coverage, as some spots and skin do show through, it takes care of my facial redness completely.

As per the title of this post, this stuff will in fact last all day, which is rare for a hydrating foundation. I put this stuff on in the morning and it is still going strong late into the day. It is truly incredible. I always set with a powder, and once I do, I experience absolutely zero transfer or movement or creasing throughout the day. It does not feel heavy or noticeable on the face, so I don't mind wearing it all day long. It's comfortable, and it performs oh so well. I haven't had a foundation make me this happy in a long time.

Stina's Sphere: The Longest Lasting Foundation for Dry Skin

My happiness only intensifies when I take the shade into consideration. Now, if you have pink undertones in your skin, I do not think this one will work out for you. Luckily for me I have yellow undertones, so it suits me well because it is a very yellow foundation. Could it be a tad lighter? Yes, but it still works without making my face look noticeably dark. It is one of the lighter high end foundations on the market, so if you have fair skin like mine or lighter, it could definitely work for you. For reference, my Sephora shade IQ number is 1Y01 (the lightest one) and I think this shade is comparable to foundations in the 1Yo1 - 1Yo3 range. It reminds me of NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation in the shade Siberia (pretty insulting shade name for pale people if I'm being honest), so it that works for you, this will.

All in all, the only issue I have with this product is the packaging. The doe foot applicator was a great idea, but it takes quite a few dips in the container to get enough product onto the face. Once applied, it blended out effortlessly without any streaks whatsoever, it is just a pain to have to keep going back in for more product. However, I will suffer through the packing to get to the foundation for as long as it takes because it is just that good.

Stina's Sphere : The Longest Lasting Foundation for Dry Skin

Have you tried this foundation or the mattifying version? Let me hear your thoughts below; I would love to hear what you think!

Have a delightful weekend!

Stina :)

bottom of page