top of page

Tarte Cosmetics Aspyn Ovard Palette Review for Fair Skin


In case you didn't know, Tarte Cosmetics is my favorite makeup brand at Sephora. I love how they use only the best, natural ingredients, and their price point isn't too bad in comparison to the other high-end brands out there. This review was one that I hadn't expected to do since this palette was a surprise graduation gift from my mom, but man I'm glad that I have this palette in my possession.

Tarte Aspyn Ovard Palette

Now, I have never heard of Aspyn Ovard before, but from my understanding, she is a blogger/vlogger. I remember seeing a picture of this palette in an Ulta catalog and looking over at my mom and saying "wow I need that in my life" -perhaps that's why she ended up getting it for me. If I had never seen that catalog, I probably would have never seen or heard of it. It's weird, no one is really talking about this palette at all, which is a shame because I really like it.

Lately, I have been going easy on the eye makeup. My life consists of working on this website and applying for jobs, so I am not really seeing a ton of people aside from family all day. Fortunately, this palette is great for easy, everyday looks and it has quickly become a staple in my collection. I don't think it is the perfect palette, but it certainly one that I cannot stop using.

 
Aspyn Ovard Eyeshadow Swatches

The Shadows: If I am being honest, this picture does not do the shadows any justice. It just so happens that swatching pale nude shades on a pale person is a hard task to accomplish. Hopefully, you can tell that this is a very basic palette with simple every day champagnes, nudes, tans, and browns, with a good mix of mattes and shimmers. It is a rare occurrence for me to both be able to, and to want to use, every single shadow in a palette. Typically there is at least a shade or two in a palette that I refuse to use whether it be because of the quality or the color itself, but not with this one.

In my opinion, Tarte makes some of the best matte shadows. They are nicely pigmented, creamy, and are never dusty, which is so rare to find in matte shadows. The tans/browns make for great transition colors in the crease and I have also been able to use them in my brows without the color coming off too red or orange, which is a total plus. The shimmer shades are also quite nice. They add a nice glow to the lids without it coming off as too extreme or chunky. I use a wet brush to make the colors pop more and they flatter my brown eyes and fair skin tone really well. The only shade I have an issue with is 'heart of gold' because it looks like it will be the ultimate gold shimmer shade, but on the lid, it really has zero color payoff. It was a big disappointment, but I like the rest of the palette enough to not be so disheartened by it.

Aspyn Ovard Cheek Swatches

Cheek Shades: In terms of the cheek shades, I am 50/50. I adore the blush shade, but the highlight does not work for my skin tone. If you like a nice rosy blush, you will really enjoy this one. I think it is the perfect shade for every day use and it could definitely compliment a wide range of skin tones. Usually, blushes are too dark for me, but this one is fair skin approved! The only thing that I have noticed with the blush in this palette is how powdery it is, which is unusual because usually Tarte has way firmer blushes. I suggest that you go in with a very (emphasis on the very) light hand or otherwise you will have big regrets.

Lastly, there is the highlight. If you are a pale princess, you understand the struggle that is finding a highlighter that doesn't leave you with a dark cast on top of your cheekbones. Unfortunately, this one is not wearable on my face because it is a tad too dark, so if you have fair skin like mine, this one might not work for you. However, I do enjoy the light gold tone to it, and I can use it as a brow bone or inner corner highlight, so it is not a complete disappointment. I wish companies would come out with paler, less deep gold highlighters because we pale girls want to glow too.

 

Overall, I would recommend this palette! I like that it has a nice sized mirror and the packaging is pretty, yet durable. I think it would be a great palette for beginners or those who just want a palette for everyday looks. I've been using it every single day and I can't see myself putting it down any time soon.

I hope you all found this helpful! Let me know if you have this palette or are thinking of getting it in the comment section down below.

Also, if you haven't already, subscribe to my blog to never miss a post! I'm setting to goal to reach 100 subscribers by the end of the year, so please help me achieve my goals!

As always, thanks for reading,

Stina :)

bottom of page