top of page

5 Hidden Beauty Gems You Need In Your Collection


Welcome back everyone! I hope you are all doing well. I just got back on campus to start my final semester of college and so far things are off to a great start. The workload is pretty manageable so far, so luckily I have had enough time to work on my blog and to plan ahead so I do not get behind on my posts. Let us pray that things stay this way!


Now, for today, I have a rather exciting post that I hope will be interesting for all you beauty lovers out there. While I love getting all the hyped up makeup that beauty gurus recommend again and again, I also love finding hidden gems that no one talks about but are oh so worth it. Some of these are more recent finds, and others are products that I have been loving for quite some time, and I am sure that you will love them just as much as I do.


The hidden gems:

So while the picture is a tad deceiving, I only have five products in total that I will be giving you all the details on. It just so happens that I have multiples of two of them because they were just that flippin' awesome. OK, so without any further ado, here are the products!


1: Ulta Beauty: Color Correcting Liquid Concealer

Raise your hand if you have ever felt personally victimized by a concealer that was not light enough for your fair complexion (ME: RAISING ALL OF THE HANDS). Finding a concealer for fair skin is quite the challenge, but luckily I have found a potential solution to those who lack melanin: color correctors.


Now, of course, not every pink or lavender color corrector is going to work. Some companies put out wearable and flattering shades, and others make them so pigmented that they show through even the most full coverage of foundations. Luckily, I have found a winner with Ulta Beauty's color correctors in pink and lavender. For a mere 9 dollars, you get a full coverage waterproof concealer that goes on smooth and lasts all day long. Ulta's regular concealer does not go light enough for fair complexions, which is why I looked into this while I was in the store one day.


It brightens the under eye without it looking like you are wearing a color corrector, and because it is waterproof, it is one of the longest lasting concealers I have ever tried. While I wish there was more product in the container, it is such an affordable price that I do not mind buying it again. I definitely think it is worth a try if you are a fair skin beauty.


2: it Cosmetics: Bye Bye Breakout Full-Coverage Treatment Concealer

Another concealer (*facepalm*). This may be the millionth one I have written about one on my blog, but this one is just as amazing as all the others I have recommended. As a college student, I get stress breakouts as frequently as I breathe air, so when it Cosmetics decided to release this concealer, I was thrilled.Now, for starters, the shade selection for it Cosmetics is atrocious, and this shade (fair) is too dark for me, but for the purpose it serves, I can overlook the color. Sometimes when I am breaking out, I worry that putting too much makeup on top will only make it worse. However, when I know the concealer that I do put on top is working to take of the problem as I go about my day, I do not worry about layering on the concealer.


I love being able to put this on in the morning knowing that at the end of the day my blemish will be diminished. I find that any breakouts I do get go away a lot quicker when I use this as it dries them up over the course of the day. Sometimes when I am just running to the gym, I just put this on some trouble spots or redness and I am out the door with a face looking nice and clear. The color, though dark, is actually not too noticeable once blended out, though sometimes I need to add a little of another concealer to help with the color. It also has some decent coverage. I mean it is not Shape Tape, but it has a nice medium-full coverage that can be layered if needed, It also blends out in seconds, so that is a plus. I highly suggest that you check it out if you want to treat any breakouts over the course of a long day.


3: Neutrogena Hydro Boost Hydrating Tint

I can honestly say that I never thought that I would say this, but I want to try more Neautrogena makeup! I usually only use their skincare, but now I think things are going to change. I recently picked up this skin tint up at Walmart (I had a coupon so why not try something new?). I hadn't heard anything about this, but since it has hylauranic acid, my dry skin senses were tingling and I decided to give it a try.


In terms of the shade, 120 looked lighter than 110 when I was in the store, so I went with it, but I am not entirely sure which one is lighter. 120 has more of a neutral/pinky tone but 110 was much more yellow, so I use 120 and while it is too dark for my fair skin, it is still wearable. I am usually more of a medium to full coverage girl, but I actually really like the finish of this tint. It gives me a nice uniform skin color while hydrating and plumping the skin. Rarely can I say a product actually makes my skin look plump and happy. It also lasts pretty darn well as I can get a full day's worth of wear out of it with it still looking great. It feels great on the skin and looks like your skin but better. If you happen to get a coupon, and you have dry skin, why not give it a try?!


4: Touch in SOL: Metallist Liquid Foil & Glitter Shadow Duo


Glitter is a beautiful thing, and a thing that I wear all too often. However, it is easy wear without glitter going everywhere with a product like this. I have loved Touch in SOL from the moment it came to Sephora and I have yet to be disappointed. These shadow duos include a cream side and a glitter side, and the cream helps to provide a base and to act as a glue for the glitter so you aren't wearing in on your cheeks throughout the whole day.


Of course, if you are not into glitter or extremely metallic eyes, you probably won't like this. It looks like actual metal strips on the eyes -especially the gold one, which is one of my favorites. It is certainly a way to make a statement on a night out, or just on a trip to the grocery store if you are crazy like me. I love anything shiny. I can't help myself. These duos are kinda pricy, but why not treat yourself? Eldora (gold) and Lottie (plum) are my two personal favorites.


5: Sephora Collection: Illuminate Palette


 I'm not going to lie, I am so excited to share this final find! I have been in love with this palette for so long, and I think it is super underrated. For $28 dollars you get 6 decently sized highlighters that are so pretty on the face and eyes. Since I am super fair, I can't use all of these shades (the bronze in particular), but the others are actually pretty wearable on my face. I have already hit pan on the white shade of course, but the pinky ones are also so beautiful.


They aren't super extreme highlighters, but they aren't subtle either. I would have to say that they are a perfect daytime highlight that is just the right amount of glow to catch eyes without blinding people. They are more on the powdery side, and to be honest, they do not swatch the best, but they do go on the face wonderfully without emphasizing texture. I often mix a few of the shades together to get the perfect shade. Overall, I was so happy to have discovered this palette, and I would definitely repurchase should I ever hit pan on all of the shades -and we are getting there!



So those were my five hidden gem beauty products that I hope you check out. What are some products that you love that no one talks about enough? Let me know!

Until next time, thanks for being here!

Stina :)

bottom of page