top of page

Tarte Cosmetics Double Duty Beauty: Don't Quit Your Day Dream Palette Review

As a huge fan of Tarte Cosmetics as a brand, I am so happy that I discovered this palette that I am completely in love with. Here is my complete review:

Eyeshadow Palette
Eyeshadow Palette

This palette, available exclusively at Ulta and Tarte's website, is honestly one of my all-time favorite palettes. It is compact, easy to travel with, and the shadows themselves are amazing and highly pigmented. I got my palette a few months ago and I have not been able to stop using it. It truly has all of the shades that you need for a completed look for either the day, or the night.

First of all, can we just talk about the packaging? It's so adorable, and I mean, maybe I'm biased, but pink is the champion of colors (have you seen my site?). I love the design as well as the layout of the palette. It also smells amazing! But all of Tarte's products smell great, so they will always win some points from me. The mirror is also a great size, so it is perfect for doing your makeup on the train or in the car when you are on your way somewhere in a hurry.

The shade "loveeee" is the perfect crease shade and I use it almost every single day. It is the ideal light, warm brown shade and blends out like a dream. You can either build it up for a deeper shade, or tone it down for a subtle look on days when you don't want to wear a lot of makeup. Now the shade "rock on" is also pretty amazing. Tarte makes some amazing matte shades that are incredibly pigmented and blend out so well. The company honestly make some of the best matte shades I have ever used, and this shade does not disappoint. On the days that I don't want to wear a ton of makeup, I sweep "rock on" all over my lid with "loveee" in the crease, and I'm good to go.

Eyeshadow swatches
Eyeshadow Palette

(Bottom--> Top: rock on, visionary, loveee, boss lady, strive, runway, werk, and shine on)

The shade "visionary" is also a great shade, and it is perfect for a brow bone highlight, or even a subtle highlight in the inner corner. Also, if you are fan of rose gold, you are going to love the shade "strive". It is a duo-chrome shade of golden flake within the most interesting pinky shade. It looks amazing on the lid, and every time I use it I get compliments and people asking me what is on my eyes. Try it with a wet brush and the pigmentation is out of this world. And as a huge fan of gold myself, the shade "boss lady" makes me one happy camper. I almost always use this shade with a wet brush just because I'm a bit extra, but that totally isn't necessary to bring out the color. Gold always looks good on anyone and everyone, and it is a nice deep golden shade that brings a nice pop to the eye.

On the bottom row of this palette, the shades "runway" and "werk" also deserve some attention. "Runway" is a beautiful auburn shade. At first I was hesitant to use this shade because warm shades often do not look great on my fair skin, but this shade is magical. The color pay-off is great, and it blends out so nicely so it isn't so shocking on the eye. I also love "werk" because it is perfect to darken the outer corner of the eye. I even use it to fill in my brows if I am too lazy to get out all of my brow products.

Lastly there is the highlighter, which to be honest, isn't my favorite. Now this is not to say that it is not a great highlight because the pigment is there, but the shade does not show up very well on my face. It comes off as pure yellow on me, but it looks great on my mom who is not as fair as I am. I do use it as a brow bone highlight and it works well for that purpose, but I don't find myself using it for my cheekbones very often if at all.

Overall, I highly recommend this palette. The shadows last all day long on me, and the color array and their pigmentation make it the perfect palette for me. For only $29, you honestly can't go wrong with this product.

SaveSaveSave

bottom of page