top of page

Life Update: Job Hunt Anxiety, New Makeup, and a Stressful Schedule


Hello everyone!

It has been quite some time since I have provided a life update, so I thought, why not hop on here and say what has been going on lately. I am currently on spring break, which means I get a nice week off from school. Unfortunately, it doesn't feel very much like spring because here in NY it is snowing like crazy. However, I'm glad to be away from all of the work and stress.

The other day I decided to do some baking because, well, when am I not baking something? I haven't baked anything fresh since I was home for winter break, so it was much needed. When I was scrolling on Pinterest, I found these great recipes for Peanut Butter Streusel Brownies and Coconut Apricot Bars. I attached the links to the recipes if you want to try them out. They both turned out so well if I do say so myself - the apricot ones in particular. (I have already decided to make them again for Easter later this month)

 

In less than sugary news, I officially am on the search for a job, and can I say, it's stressful! I keep scrolling through all these job websites and I get so stressed out. How was I supposed to get 2-5 years experience while being an undergrad? It feels like I am not qualified for any job that I see. Everyone keeps saying that your first job is not your last -which is to say that the first one is not going to be the best - but even shooting low from the get-go doesn't seem to be working. What is the worst is that even when you apply for jobs, you never hear back! I applied for a job over a month ago and never heard back, so I sent a follow-up email, and what would you know? No response...again. It's frustrating, but I am not giving up. I refuse to be unemployed after graduation.

Although all seems bleak at the moment, I am the kind of person that already has about five back up plans already set up for if everything goes to hell (perhaps that is a bit extreme, but you know what I mean). I have a plan in mind for anything from getting more schooling to trying a different career path. Trust me, I want to be prepared for everything. I'm a driven planner, it is just who I am as a person, so I know I can come up with something if things do not go according to plan.

And I have to say, I am thankful every day for creating this blog because every week I get more followers, more page views, and I feel more motivated to keep it going. If I didn't have this site, I would feel even more nervous about going into the future not knowing if I would be employed. It feels good knowing that I can continue to grow my site with the amazing community and support I have come to find on the inter-web and Twitter. I'm hoping to really make some waves on my site in the coming months. Thank you to everyone who supports me and my passion!

 

About 3 weeks ago, I ran out of my favorite eyeliner (Stila Stay All Day if you were wondering), but I did not have the time to go to the mall to get a new one. So I went on to Amazon to search for a cheap one. I was scrolling through and I saw this dual-ended winged eyeliner stamp from Vogue Effects. I had never heard of the brand before, but I liked the idea of getting two eyeliners, each with two sides (one is a regular fine tip pen and the other is the stamp) for less than the price of one Stila eyeliner. It only cost me about 15 dollars and I have been having so much fun playing around with them.

I originally wanted to try the Vamp Stamp because I heard how great it is for winged eyeliner, but this one is almost half the price and you don't have to stamp it into a pot before using. All of the ink is already in the pen and it is a nice rich black that lasts all day long. There is a bit of a learning curve to it because you have to be able to get the wings at the right angle on both eyes, but once you do, it looks amazing and it easy to use the pen side to complete the wing on both sides. I wear winged eyeliner a ton more now that I have this product, and I would highly recommend it to everyone who struggles with wings!

 
Edith Wharton Books

While I might be on break now, when I go back to campus, it is time to get working on my Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies capstone paper. I have to make it to 30 pages and give 2 presentations on it, but luckily, all of the research is already complete (for the most part). My project is looking at how catfights are depicted through the male gaze in Edith Wharton's novel The Age of Innocence. The book is from the perspective of Newland Archer and you learn about the two women in his life (who are competing for his affections) through his eyes. I think it is interesting how a woman writer, who didn't want to be considered a woman writer, like Wharton writes in such a way. Wharton was quite the interesting writer in a number of different ways, so I think it will make for an interesting project -it certainly will be taking up quite a deal of my time in the coming weeks - so hopefully it is as fun as I imagine it will be to write.

 

So that is where I'm at right now. I am hoping to spend the rest of this break planning ahead for future blog posts and enjoying my time at home with my dogs and family. I will have a post coming at you on Friday talking about all my latest makeup obsessions, so keep an eye out for that!

Until next time,

Stina :)

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page