top of page

11 Aspects Of Life With Bangs You Were Wondering About



If you have bangs or have ever had them, you understand the great responsibility that comes with them. There is nothing easy about having hair on your face 24/7 and those without bangs will never understand the numerous dilemmas that those who do have them face on a daily basis. It takes a rather tough individual to handle a life of bangs and that is why you see so few us remaining. Even those who elect to get bangs later on in life do not seem to have them for long.


So, for those who do not understand what it is like to have bangs, here is a little insight from someone who has had bangs her entire life and is not getting rid of them anytime soon.


1. No, my bangs do not look like this naturally.

I do not wake up in the morning with perfectly curled bangs that have the perfect arch to shape my face. There are pieces off to every side and it almost never looks uniform. The worst part is that oftentimes, one side looks better than the other, so I have to decide if I am going to part my hair to one side to hide the issue or if I am going to risk ruining the other side by styling it all over again. It is a daily crisis.


2. Yes, I cut these myself. Often.

While I do go to my hairdresser like any anyone else, and believe me she is amazing, she sadly cannot pop up and fix my bangs every time they need a trim. Bangs need to be trimmed more frequently than regular hair. Why, might you ask? Because I need to be able to see. However, being a long-time wearer of bangs, I have developed a highly sophisticated way of curling my bangs under more and more to get away with not cutting them. I may look like I just came out of a scene from the 80's, but at least I can get away without cutting them for a little while longer.


3. Rain is not my friend.

Rain affects all hair, I understand that. However, the tragic thing about raincoats is that they do not cover your face, which just so happens to be where bangs are located. If I spent all morning styling them, then I am not going to want to pin them back to keep them dry. So if by any chance you ever see me outside while it is raining, do not be surprised if I do not pick my head up to look at you. I am just protecting the crown jewel on my forehead.


4. Wind is not my friend either.

Going off of the rain idea, bangs do not stay in one place when it is windy. Those without bangs can get away with having hair flow in the breeze, but when you have hair that is supposed to go in another direction from the rest of it, you will look at little crazy when your bangs are blown back or even standing straight up by the time that you get where you were going.


5. It takes longer to do my hair in the morning.

Now that is not necessarily true if you have had bangs for upwards of 20 years like I have because you know how to handle your hair and how to get it to look how you want. However, it is another step in my routine in the morning. My hair is not done when the back is dry, it is done when my bangs actually look somewhat decent.


6. Yes, I do have eyebrows.

A common misconception that people have is that I do not have eyebrows under my bangs or that they must look pretty hideous under there. Neither is the case, as I do have them and I think that they look pretty great if I do say so, myself. Just because you can't see them all the time doesn't mean that I don't put some effort into them.


7. No, I do not have a five-head.

​ Trust me, my forehead is completely normal-looking. I have had many people be surprised to find out that it is normal, which is funny to watch. However, I would suggest bangs if you have a five-head, yourself.


8. I can't really wear hats.

Trust me, I have tried, but hats do not look good on me. Either I have to wear a beanie that hangs off the back of my head or I have flattened bangs that cover my eyes and cause me to walk into walls. It is not attractive.


9. Washing my face is a hassle.

Not only do I have to tie my hair back, but I also need to pin my bangs back. On a bad day if I can't find my headband, my bangs fall out of the clip that I use and they get wet, and then I have to curl them all over again. What's worse is that no matter how I put them back, my bangs still need to be redone anyway because they were forced back in the opposite direction.


10. I do not put makeup on my forehead.

Honestly, what's the point? It is a waste of product, to be honest, and I do not want to risk breaking out even more by putting makeup on a part of my face that is already covered by hair all day long. Perhaps if I knew that I would be facing a lot of wind wherever I am going, then I would put some makeup up there, but otherwise, why waste my time?


11. I would not be the same without them.


Anyone who knows me understands that my bangs are a part of me. They make me who I am and I am never going to get rid of them. It may be a hassle at times, but at the end of the day, having bangs is totally worth it for me.


Do you have bangs and think I forgot anything? Let me know in the comments down below! If you are thinking about bangs, I promise they aren't as scary as they sound. I love having bangs and I truly would not be the same without them.

Thanks for being here!

Stina :)

bottom of page